Monise L Seward
1 min readJun 6, 2021

On My Way To Veracruz

Leaving, again.

Sitting on the tarmac, waiting to take-off to someplace new.

Miles from Atlanta, with only high school level Spanish...I can't help but wonder: What the hell am I doing? Is this my delayed midlife crisis?

I have a kid in college and a rising high school Senior, yet here I am trying to figure it out...again.

This was my last year in the classroom. This school year was brutal; the most physically, emotionally, and mentally demanding school year I’ve ever experienced. I have concluded that every public school in Georgia has issues with Special Education. Either full-on non-compliance, not enough compliance, teachers are left to fend for and defend themselves, or some combination of the aforementioned.

I will always feel overworked, underappreciated and not properly supported in a dysfunctional and poorly led system.

I am tired of gambling on a different school or system being different or better.

I have no idea what I'm going to do next.

I have 10 days to myself.

I have 10 days where I only have to think about what I need and want.

Wish me luck!

Monise L Seward

I only write when I have something important to say. Everything else will be tweeted from @MoniseLSeward